Search Results
Tiverton School District
100 N Brayton Rd, Tiverton, RI 02878

The administrative offices for Tiverton's School Department are located within the high school on North Brayton Road.More The district currently has around 1,950 students. There is a high school, middle school and three elementary schools: Fort Barton, Pocasset and William E. Ranger.

The elementary schools are for grades K-4 and the middle school is for grades 5-8.

All five of the school department's schools have hosted successful School Accountability for Learning and Teaching visits and the high school is currently accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges.

All five schools within the district were recognized by the Rhode Island Department of Education for high student achievement on the New England Common Assessment Program.

Tiverton School Department is committed to standards-based instruction and performance in a K-12 curriculum.

The Tiverton School Committee meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month at 7 pm in the Tiverton High School Library. Announcements of all regular school committee meetings will be made at least two days prior to the meeting by the superintendent.

William J. Rearick is the superintendent of schools.


Little Compton School District
28 Commons, Little Compton, RI 02837

Little Compton Public Schools is comprised of the Josephine F. Wilbur and Katherine B. McMahon elementary schools. ItMore is located on the Commons. Kathryn Crowley is the superintendent of schools and James Gibney is the principal. Public education in Little Compton dates back to 1698, when school was conducted in private homes with a schoolmaster appointed to teach reading, writing and arithmetic. With the lack of an official building to house the school, the schoolmaster was required to move his school quarterly around town.

Changes over the last 50 years in science and technology education forced Little Compton to make arrangements with the neighboring communities of Tiverton, Portsmouth and Middletown to send its students for the remainder of their grammar and high school education.

Little Compton School Committee  meetings are held on the second 
Wednesday of the month at 7pm in the Commons of the Wilbur &  McMahon School located at 28 Commons, Little Compton, R.I.

For more information, visit the school district's website.

See more »